Utilizing Unique Tools in Writing

I’m one of those people who tries to visualize what I write, I want to hear the music, smell the smells and try to imagine what the character is wearing and how it might affect how they move. I’ve read lots about authors who use character boards to cut out pictures and ideas that help them describe their characters better and I do that in my way. My characters have playlists of music I write to on Itunes and certain things that they drink that I tend to drink while writing for them but I use another tool that may be as much for me as for the stories. Come on, how often do you get to pick out a Herve Leger dress, a Nancy Gonzales bag, Reed Krakoff sandals or Pavé earrings from your closet. I know that stuff isn’t in mine anyway.

My friend Brandee says that I write in a stream of consciousness, that she can hear the laughter, see the food and that it hits all of her senses. I love her dearly but realize she might be a slightly biased reader, still I hope that this is the case; it is what I’m going for anyway.

Attached you will find a picture of the outfit described above. This is what my character TammyJo wore the night of her birthday date with Roman. The interaction and play between the characters is being written and will be posted soon.

I urge you to check out Polyvore.com and see what it has to offer and figure out if it could help you in your writing. I feel like it helps me in mine if in no other way than to kill time till the muse catches up.

About TXMoonbaby

Farmgirl, caregiver, furmommy and try-to-be-writer who floods Twitter with the antics of the characters in my head, like @TammyJo__.

Leave a Reply

