Song Remains The Same

I love music, I have it going constantly it seems. Growing up in Texas you would think I love country, which I do, but I’m not a one trick pony. My musical tastes go from there to metal, classic rock to classical with a sprinkling of Broadway, jazz and blues mixed in. Hell, I even like zydeco and bluegrass, see my taste run the spectrum. Yet, as wide as my tastes are some things never seem to change.

Heart’s Magic Man reminds me of Roman because he has the most remarkable blue eyes. Vanilla Ice’s Ice Ice Baby will always pull me out of a funk and make me want to dance. The Dance by Garth Brooks will always make me cry and finally A Tout Le Monde by Megadeth will make me reflect on my life.

I didn’t learn French in high school even though it was offered, being in Texas, Spanish was more useful so I never knew what the words in that song meant until recently.

It always surprises me how so much of art, in all forms, seems up to interpretation. I tend to discount music in that sometimes but thinking about it, it isn’t different at all is it? Someone could hear The Dance and remember a lost loved one while I remember reading it was written about living each day and taking chances to make the most of the time you have.

Still there are some songs that get their intended meanings across no matter what, including a language barrier. That is what the Megadeth song is to me, even now.

And when that time comes, I want that translation etched in stone and placed above me.

To Everyone,
To All My Friends,
I Love You.
I Must Leave.

About TXMoonbaby

Farmgirl, caregiver, furmommy and try-to-be-writer who floods Twitter with the antics of the characters in my head, like @TammyJo__.

Leave a Reply

