Bookworm at Heart

Leather bound, paperback, Goodwill finds, first editions, my library has them all. Those that know me probably think that this causes me heart palpitations when it comes to displaying my books, but it doesn’t. My method may not make sense to anyone else but it works for me. As I’m putting the books up in my library I’m noticing a pattern. Some authors have a special meaning to me.

You might not be able to tell it by the number of books that I have of each author but I know what you don’t. Some of these people I have every available work of theirs in my collection, and the ones I don’t have, I have on a searching list until I do.

Eileen Wilks is one of these authors. I have her newest book in my Amazon cart as soon as it is available for Pre-Order I have also had the pleasure to speak with her electronically through Myspace and her website. She is one of the sweetest people I have “never known”. I love how her heroine isn’t a Caucasian movie star looks kind of girl, still she writes with such heart that you can’t help but feel drawn to all of her characters, even her bad guys.

Then there is Annette Blair. I know why I picked up the first of her books, she was in a Twittersation with another author I had found and was *cough* following. I had no idea that she was following me back (I was new to the whole Twitter thing.) until I tweeted about buying 8 books and 6 of them being hers. That was before her Works Like Magic and Vintage Magic Mystery series. Between Dragons and vintage clothing, not to mention a play on title of my favorite book ever, I can see myself being a fan of her work for life.

Speaking of my favorite book, Gone with the Wind gets a special place in my bedroom. I have multiple copies of it, paperback for when I travel, hardcovers with unique dust jackets, eBook copy on my phone, and I’ve read them every one along with every sequel written by whatever author they have decided on this time whether it is Scarlett or Rhett Butler’s People.   A leather-bound, gold embossed copy is on my birthday wish list and has been for years. I guess I always feel silly for asking for something so grand and pointless, still I know I would squeal like a kid at Christmas if I found it with a gift tag to me.

Now for a book that did make me squeal like a kid at Christmas, because hey I was 5, was my first copy of Robert Louis Stevenson’s A Child’s Garden of Verses. My grandmother would put me to bed at night with poems from this book, one night I surprised her by saying it with her. After that it wasn’t unusual to see us sitting on a window seat reading this book together. I never got in to Mr. Stevenson’s other works, I always meant to try again but I will always love this book, and I keep Grandmother Whelan’s copy safely hidden away, so it won’t be damaged.

Speaking of being hidden away, umm I wonder if Roman would notice that a hide a whole shelf of books in the back of our closet? Don’t get me wrong, they aren’t black magic or anything like that but authors of erotica like Leda Swann or Colette Gale aren’t what I want someone to see when they peruse the volumes of books in my library. There is nothing wrong with having a healthy sexual appetite and I like the erotic version of some of the fairytales I loved as a child. Maybe I’ll break some of these out and read from them to Roman as we soak in the tub or as a bedtime story as we settle in before rest.

I think I may pick one and take it back to share with Roman tonight or at least give them something to talk about if I’m reading in a booth at Fangtasia.  What can I say, I am a bookworm at heart.*chuckles*

About TXMoonbaby

Farmgirl, caregiver, furmommy and try-to-be-writer who floods Twitter with the antics of the characters in my head, like @TammyJo__.

Leave a Reply

