April 15, 2010 Sleepless in Shreveport

(Miranda’s voice)

I wake with a start and look around me, eyes immediately going to Aidan sleeping in his crib.  The last few nights have been mostly sleepless for me, the disagreement with myself and Wesley finally taking it’s toll on me.  I don’t know if I understand Wesley’s reasons, but I can say I don’t agree with them at all.

I’m not one who cares about social standing and outward appearances, I think who a person is on the inside is more important than the façade that they project.  That is 180 degrees from Wesley.  To him and the pack outward appearances and social standing are everything, literally.  It is how they remain in power, keep from being attacked and garner support.

What the hell was I thinking ever getting involved with a werewolf?  Could I have picked a more territorial and possessive person for my life mate?  I guess I shouldn’t complain too much, he has agreed to let me stay here in Louisiana under certain “conditions”.

Those conditions just piss me off and I can’t help it.  Sure I understand that they are meant to protect Aidan and myself, but damn it, I can protect us just fine.

Can’t I?

About TXMoonbaby

Farmgirl, caregiver, furmommy and try-to-be-writer who floods Twitter with the antics of the characters in my head, like @TammyJo__.

Leave a Reply

